It’s Biden. I’m not thrilled about it, I’m still angry and bitter that we don’t have Bernie, but I don’t want to rain on anybody’s parade. And parade it is, actual street parties are busting out all over. As much as I’m not a fan of Biden, it is fun to watch Trump lose.
It would be even more fun if there were some lawsuits against him as soon as he leaves office, either for malfeasance in office or other, private sector crimes. Hell, there are probably a lot of people ready to jump on that bandwagon. But, there probably won’t be. Biden’s preaching unity and calm, which is a lovely sentiment and all, but what it means is justice won’t be done, at least not by the federal government, and the good ol’ boys network will carry on, uninterrupted.
Also, does anybody besides me suspect that the reason it took so long, and the reason all recent elections have been as close as most NBA games, is that the networks are controlling this, and milking it for all it’s worth?
Category Archives: Blogs' Archive
It’s Biden
Filed under Blogs' Archive
CNN Review
Of course, my feelings are mixed. It is like watching the Superbowl being played by the two teams you hate the most. (I actually barely follow American football at all, it’s just an analogy)
But, as intensely as I dislike Biden, as much as I think his presidency is going to be a nightmare for working class people, not to mention the planet Earth, it sure is fun watching Donald Trump squirm.
I would love it if, after he leaves office, he and his entire family are hit with charges (I don’t care what charges) and at least some of them do time in jail. But, I don’t think that will happen. After it’s all over, the Democrats will all be about “Now is the time to move forward, not to seek recriminations over the past” and the whole cycle of evil shit in high places will continue uninterrupted, because they are all on the same side in the end.
One more thing: I almost never watch network news any more. My family watches Czech news, and occasionally I’ll understand a bit, but it’s all about Covid and it’s boring. So, this has been the first time in years I’ve actually watched CNN. Good grief, these guys are empty shells. Repeating the same thing over and over and not even taking a break now and then to talk about Senate races, House races, or any of the issues. They announce it like a sport, except they’re not as good as sports announcers. Also, they’ve completely dropped any pretense of neutrality and they are clearly rooting for a Biden win.
When Anderson Cooper said “Trump is like a fat turtle on his back. He’s flailing and he knows his time is over,” it was not an inaccurate characterization. Nonetheless, it wasn’t exactly neutral, and I was a bit surprised to hear him say it.
Filed under Blogs' Archive
What Now?
They haven’t called it yet, but it sure looks like a Biden win at this point. All they need is Arizona and one other and, while every state still out is in question, the trend seems clear.
So, congratulations, vote blue no matter who people. You got no matter who. You said you were voting for the lesser of two evils. At the very best, that’s what you’ve got.
Watch who Biden appoints to his cabinet. (or, it could be Harris. My guess is they won’t do that before the inauguration, and will hold off as long as they can) They will be corporatists right down the line. Some may even be Republicans.
You got what you wanted. Celebrate. Then, let’s do that ‘feet to the fire’ thing.
Filed under Blogs' Archive
Rerun
It’s still too early to call, it could go either way, but as I watch the morning news here on Central European Time (it’s still late last night in the U.S.) it looks almost exactly like 2016. Which is no surprise, since the Democrats have run exactly the same campaign as they did in 2016.
Trump won Texas, and Florida, and a huge swathe of what is often referred to as ‘flyover country,’ i.e. most of the U.S. Biden won the West Coast, and New York, and Massachusetts. Just like 2016.
My feelings are mixed, but I knew that going in. It’s not as if Joe Biden was going to take action on anything I’m concerned about. And, I’m still angry about the way they screwed Bernie. On the other hand, four more years of the same is not a pleasant prospect, either.
I am looking out my window and the leaves of most trees are solid gold, except for the chestnuts, which are mostly brown and one tree is almost entirely bare. They don’t care. They are oblivious. And that puts things into perspective.
Filed under Blogs' Archive
One More Day
After a year long campaign which at first brought us hope, then despair, then anger and hostility, not to mention extreme anxiety on all sides, it will all be over tomorrow. Maybe a couple of weeks down the road, if things get complicated.
I’m not making any predictions, I reckon it’s about a 50/50. If this is just a replay of 2016, as it certainly appears to be, then Trump will win. If there is a different dynamic this year, if the revulsion with Trump is as widespread as Biden supporters think it is, then Biden will win. Polls, and most experts, are predicting a Biden win. But they’re wrong about half the time. So, still, 50/50.
Either way, the American people will have lost. They were offered a choice between two elderly, decrepit, corrupt, power seeking individuals who are both anti-environment, anti-health care, and very much anti-getting big money out of politics.
There is no right choice. So, after it’s all over, nobody should blame the voters, even if they voted in a way you thought wrong. The voters didn’t have any good choices.
Filed under Blogs' Archive